One moment please...

Book Club - The Silence Between Us by Alison Gervais

Join us December 6th at 6:00 p.m. for our book club. Each participant will receive a copy of the book The Silence Between Us by Alison Gervais prior to that date so you will have time to read it and discuss it.  

Deaf teen Maya moves across the country and must attend a hearing school for the first time. As if that wasn’t hard enough, she also has to adjust to the hearing culture, which she finds frustrating. As Maya looks past graduation and focuses on her future dreams, nothing, not even an unexpected romance, will derail her pursuits or cause her to question her own self worth.

The Silence Between Us:

  • Features a Deaf protagonist and an #OwnVoices perspective on Deaf and Hard of Hearing culture
  • Is a clean YA romance by Wattpad sensation Alison Gervais
  • Is perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and CeCe Bell
  • Includes an interview with the author and a commentary on cochlear implants by Alison

The Silence Between Us is eminently un-put-down-able.” (NPR)

*

First Name
Last Name
*

*

Contact Information
*

*
*
You may either attend in person at the Social Drop-In Center at Sunland Park Mall or via Zoom. Which option do you think will work best for you (You can always change your mind later)?
*

Address Line 1
Address Line 2
City
State/Province
ZIP/Postal Code
Country
Liability Waiver
I understand that food might be made available during this event and that these food items might contain common food allergens such as wheat, eggs, soy, nuts, peanuts, milk, and other dairy products. While great care has been exercised in planning for this event so that all participants will be safe, I understand that participation in this activity could under exceptional circumstances result in injury to the participant. I understand that the participant is responsible for providing any needed personal care attendants and indemnify The Arc of El Paso from any claims arising from injury to a personal care attendant during my participation in this activity. By checking I agree below, I assume any risk of harm or injury which might occur to the participant due to his/her/my participation in the event or activity. I release The Arc of El Paso from all liability, costs and damages which might arise from participation in this activity. I further provide my consent for The Arc of El Paso to seek emergency treatment for the participant if necessary. I agree to accept financial responsibility for the costs related to this emergency treatment.

If you will need the book in an alternate format as an accommodation other than a standard text-size printed book, please make your request to Tom Laign through email at tom.laign@thearcofelpaso.org by September 13th.