One moment please...
Activating Aeromoto Library: Cultivating Community-Based Curation, Curiosity, and Imagination

image_50728449.JPG

December 7, 2022 – 12pm Pacific, 1pm CDMX, 3pm Eastern – Zoom Webinar

Aeromoto is a public art library in Mexico City that resists the privatization of information and proposes the library as a public good in conjunction with an alternative temporality, a “slow time…a time without hurrying or urgency,” with the underlying belief that “books are the best way to lose time and that reading is never a waste of time.” While libraries have been historically conceived and perceived as quiet semi-static spaces, Aeromoto co-founder Macarena Hernandez Estrada will discuss how Aeromoto seeks to challenge this dynamic by featuring community-curated book collections, inviting artists to activate portions of the collections as well as the physical space of the library, and developing a robust roster of public events and collaborations with artists and creators within Mexico City and across the world.   

This event continues the Radical Publishing in CDMX series sponsored by BSA in 2020-2021 by demonstrating how some of the publishing projects discussed in the first part of the series are activated and circulated. 

The “Radical Publishing in CDMX” speaker series highlights creative bibliographic research and practice originating in Mexico City and aims to highlight transnationalism in bibliographic studies and tie bibliographic history to the current sociopolitical context. These programs are structured around the language justice principle that everyone has the right to communicate and be heard in the language in which they feel most comfortable; each speaker will give their presentation in their first language (Spanish); simultaneous interpretation will be provided.

Speaker names and brief biographies forthcoming.
Co-Sponsored by the Bibliographical Society of America and CalRBS.

Event Registration
*

First Name
Last Name
*

*

*
*