One moment please...
CRP&A Member Exclusive: A Behind-the-Scenes Look at the Richard Steinheimer Collection

Tuesday, August 2, 2022

7:00 p.m. (U.S. Central Time), on Zoom

Registration closes on Monday, August 1, at 4:30 p.m. (CST)  

This event is exclusive for CRP&A Members (request to check your status in the registration form below the event description)

 

Join us for a behind the scenes look at the Richard Steinheimer Collection and how it was prepared for its trip from Sacramento to the Center for Railroad Photography & Art’s archive in Madison, Wisconsin. 

Our special guest is Shirley Burman Steinheimer, “Stein’s” widow, partner, soulmate, fellow photographer and keeper of his tremendous visual legacy. Shirley will join Stein devotees Elrond Lawrence and Ken Rehor for a special Zoom program on Monday, August 2, at 7 pm Central (5 pm PT / 6 pm MT / 8 pm ET). They will talk about Stein’s career and his groundbreaking photography, and Shirley will share tales of their adventures together. 

The program will also include a member Q&A with Shirley and the team, including archivist Adrienne Evans and associate archivist Heather Sonntag, who will manage the cataloging and digitizing of the Steinheimer Collection. We’ll show pictures of the sorting and packaging of Stein’s beautiful prints and slides inside his office and darkroom, plus an early preview of favorite Steinheimer images both popular and seldom-seen.

This is the first preview of the collection since the Center set the rail photography world buzzing in June with news of the acquisition—which includes 30,000 color slides, thousands of Stein’s majestic black and white prints, black and white negatives circa 1975 and later, plus scans, and more.

 

Please use the form below to register, and watch for an email on the evening of August 1st, which will include a Zoom link and log in information for all registrants.

 

* Red asterisks below indicate required fields.

*

First Name
Last Name

Address Line 1
Address Line 2
City
State/Province
ZIP/Postal Code
Country
*

*



*