One moment please...
Documenting Social Movement: Bibliography, Archives, and Protest – March 6, 2023 – 10am PT/1 pm ET/ 6pm BST

CSUDH_StudentVoice1.jpg

Image courtesy of the Gerth Archives & Special Collections at California State University Dominguez Hills University Library.

Despite working under precarious and hostile circumstances, oppressed groups have produced an enduring archive of records and media that document their struggles. Preserving and accessing these materials poses various challenges. When collected at all, surviving documents are scattered across multiple collections of personal papers or organizational records in one or more repositories. To address this and other concerns, community-based institutions have been founded, with explicit mandates to collect such materials. Posters, pamphlets, and other protest ephemera have also increasingly been sought by academic libraries. Join us for a presentation by representatives from collecting institutions in Canada, England, and the United States of America who will discuss the history, status, and vitality of their social movement collections. Pre-recorded talks by representatives from three institutions will be followed by a live, moderated discussion.

This presentation is sponsored jointly by the Bibliographical Society (UK), the Bibliographical Society of America, and the Bibliographical Society of Canada and will be presented in English, with captions in both English and French. Presentations will be broadcast on YouTube Premier, but registration is required to attend the discussion.

Speakers (bios coming soon):

 

Event Registration
*

First Name
Last Name
*

*

*
*